Florida is one of ten states that has Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This is coverage that is used in automobile policies. PIP, also known as “no-fault” car insurance, will pay up to $10,000.00 of your medical bills and lost wages if you are the hurt policy holder in a car accident, no matter who was at fault.
However, if you are hurt more than what $10,000.00 covers and were not at fault, other forms of car insurance are needed to cover your past and future medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. These sources include bodily injury coverage from the at-fault driver’s insurance or your own policy’s under-insured/uninsured motorist (UM) coverage. Look at your policy, you will see PIP, bodily injury and UM listed in your coverage section, with various amounts.
Some people only have PIP coverage in Florida, limiting their recovery to $10,000.00. If the at-fault driver does not have bodily injury coverage, and the hurt (not at-fault) driver doesn’t have UM, the hurt (not at-fault) driver may get nothing other than their PIP benefits.
However, a new law in Florida is possibly emerging which will do away with PIP and replace it with the following new automobile policy requirements for drivers:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability for injury or death of two or more people
This new law is great news for anyone hurt by an at-fault driver in a car accident—as all at-fault driver’s will be required to carry a minimum of $25,000.00 in coverage on their policy to pay for the medical bills and pain and suffering of someone they hurt.
Mackey Law Group’s attorneys don’t just fight in court and win, we are always watching for changes in the law that impact our current and future clients. Don’t go it alone, our team of lawyers are ready to represent you, your loved ones, or friends, if they are hurt in an accident. Call and you will speak to one of our experienced attorneys today.